INSPIRE Scholarship

The INSPIRE Scholarship is our newest scholarship and is designed to provide tuition assistance to graduating high school seniors. The INSPIRE Scholarship will provide hard-working, community minded students the opportunity to receive $3,000 per year toward their college education. It will award multiple 2- and 4-year scholarships each year.

Scholarship Details

Scholarship award: $3,000 per year

Application timeline:  The INSPIRE Scholarship application will be available on
September 1, 2018 and due to your school counselor by November 30, 2018.

You are eligible if you are:

  • Graduating from an Elkhart County High School
  • Resident of Elkhart County for minimum of 4 years
  • Maintaining a GPA between 2.0 and 3.75
  • Planning to enroll full-time at an accredited college or university
  • Seeking a 2 or 4 year degree

The selection process will be weighted upon the following:

  • Community and/or work experience
  • Career goals
  • Personal statement
  • Personal evaluation
  • Face-to-face Interview

Note: We value giving back to our communities through resources and time.  Therefore, each year the INSPIRE Scholarship recipient(s) will be required to volunteer in Elkhart County for a minimum of 30 hours each year in order to renew the scholarship.

2018-2019 INSPIRE Scholarship timeline.
September 1, 2018 Application available online.
November 30, 2018 Application due to your high school counselor.
December 14, 2018 Each school will report its nomination(s) to the Community Foundation.
January 24, 2019 Nominee Interview Day: 2 Year (Associate’s Degree). All students selected as their school nominee are required to attend.
January 25, 2019 Nominee Interview Day: 4 Year (Bachelor’s Degree). All students selected as their school nominee are required to attend.
February 1, 2019 Community Foundation will notify scholarship recipients.
July 15, 2019 Community Foundation will mail checks to college/university.

To Apply

Download the 2019 INSPIRE Scholarship application and submit it to your high school counselor by Friday, November 30, 2018.

Amanda Jamison

Senior Program Officer
Career Pathways

Samantha Lambert

Program Associate
Career Pathways

Cooper, Lauren_7476-R 4x5x300 Hi Key

Lauren Cooper

Scholarship Assistant