INSPIRE Scholarship

The INSPIRE Scholarship is our newest scholarship and is designed to provide tuition assistance to graduating high school seniors. The INSPIRE Scholarship will provide hard-working, community minded students the opportunity to receive $3,000 per year toward their college education. It will award multiple 2- and 4-year scholarships each year.

Download Brochure
Scholarship Details

Scholarship award: $3,000 per year

Application timeline:  The INSPIRE Scholarship application will be available on
September 1, 2016 and due to your school counselor by December 1, 2016.

You can qualify if you are:

  • Graduating from an Elkhart County High School
  • Resident of Elkhart County for minimum of 4 years
  • Maintaining a GPA between 2.0 and 3.75
  • Planning to enroll full-time at an accredited college or university
  • Seeking a 2 or 4 year degree

The selection process will be weighted upon the following:

  • Community and/or work experience
  • Career goals
  • Personal statement
  • Personal evaluation
  • Face-to-face Interview

Note: We value giving back to our communities through resources and time.  Therefore, each year the INSPIRE Scholarship recipient(s) will be required to volunteer in Elkhart County for a minimum of 30 hours each year in order to renew the scholarship.

2016 INSPIRE Scholarship timeline.
September 1, 2016 Application available online
December 1, 2016 Application due to your high school counselor
December 14, 2016 Each school will report its nomination to the Community Foundation.
January 27, 2017 Nominee Interview Day. All students selected as their school nominee are required to attend.
February 10, 2017 Community Foundation will notify scholarship recipients.
April 22, 2017 Scholarship Brunch
July 15, 2017 Community Foundation will mail checks to college/university.


The INSPIRE Scholarship application is now available. Applications can be downloaded and submitted to your respective high school counselor by Thursday, December 1.

Download Application

Amanda Jamison

Program Officer
Youth Development and Scholarships

Samantha Crooks

Program Associate
Youth Development and Scholarships