Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

Since 1998, the Community Foundation has been a proud partner of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship (LECS) Program, which has provided more than 70 students from Elkhart County with the financial means to complete a post-secondary education.

Download Brochure
Scholarship Details

Through the Community Foundation of Elkhart County, Lilly Endowment Inc. will award four-year, full-tuition (room and board not included) scholarships to three 2017 Elkhart County seniors. These students who will begin classes in the fall of 2017 may attend any accredited Indiana college.

Each eligible high school in the county may nominate one student. From this group the Community Foundation Scholarship Committee will then select three Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship (LECS) nominees. Selected recipients will be determined by Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).

Students not selected as LECS nominees will be awarded the Guy David Gundlach Memorial Scholarships of $20,000 toward tuition to be paid over four years at $5,000 per year.


To learn more about the process, students or parents are encouraged to download the LECS brochure below. If you have additional questions, please contact your high school counselor or the Program Office at the Community Foundation.

2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship timeline.
September 12, 2016 Application Deadline. High school seniors submit application to their respective school.
September 23, 2016 Each school will report its nomination to the Community Foundation.
October 24, 2016 Nominee Interview Day. All students selected as their school nominee are required to attend.
October 26, 2016 Community Foundation Scholarship Committee will meet to determine LECS nominees.
October 31, 2016 Community Foundation will report its nominees to ICI.
December 16, 2016 LECS and Guy David Gundlach Memorial Scholarship recipients will be notified.
April 22, 2017 Scholarship Brunch

Scholarships adult students:

  • IUSB Elkhart County Scholarship
  • Ivy Tech Community College Scholarship
  • Jane Fryer McConaughy Memorial Scholarship / Students pursuing Missionary, Ministry or Education

Scholarships current high school seniors:

  • John G. Blakesley Mathematical Excellence for HS Seniors
  • Philip T. Christ Scholarship / For CTS Dependents
  • Donald & Margaret Covert Scholarship / Students pursuing a Science-Oriented curriculum
  • Foreman for DePauw University / For Goshen HS Seniors
  • IUSB Elkhart County Scholarship
  • Ivy Tech Community College Scholarship
  • Jenkins Automotive Scholarship / Students pursuing Automotive Technician certificate program
  • Literacy League of Elkhart County
  • Claude S. & Hanna M. Kegerreis Scholarship
  • Ralph Lockerbie Goshen Kiwanis Scholarship / Students from Fairfield or Goshen HS Key Club members
  • Jane Fryer McConaughy Memorial Scholarship / Students pursuing Missionary, Ministry or Education
  • Charles Milton & Miriam Nance Miller Nursing / Student pursing 4-year nursing degree program
  • Butch Nine Scholarship / Students pursuing law enforcement, medical studies or fire service
  • Henry & Alice Pederson Educational Fund
  • Todd C. Putnam Memorial Scholarship / Students (ECS) pursuing Health Care or Special Needs Educ.
  • Larry & Elizabeth Renbarger Scholarship / Wabash HS student attending Manchester University
  • Corporal Aaron L. Seal Memorial Scholarship / 1st generation students (ECS) pursuing a 4-year degree
  • Walter O. Wells Scholarship
  • Ira Whitlock Scholarship

To Apply

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship application is now closed.

Amanda Jamison

Program Officer
Youth Development and Scholarships

Samantha Crooks

Program Associate
Youth Development and Scholarships

Website - Unger, Marla_1776-R 4x5x300 Hi Key

Marla Unger

Scholarship Associate